top of page



AFPNP recognizes the valuable contributions to PNP education made by Outstanding PNP Preceptors, Educators, and Researchers. Please join AFPNP in acknowledging the meaningful contributions of our colleagues.

Outstanding PNP Preceptor of the Year, awarded annually

Outstanding PNP Educator of the Year, awarded biannually in odd years

Outstanding Researcher of the Year, awarded biannually in even years

Award Nominations open in January each year.  Awards are presented at the National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioner (NAPNAP) annual National Conference on Pediatric Health Care. 

Past Award Recipients

​Researcher of the Year Award

2020: Cynthia Danford, PhD, CRNP, PPCNP-BC, CPNP-BC, FAAN, Cleveland Clinic Office of Nursing Research and Innovation


2016: Martha (Marti) Driessnack, PhD, PNP-BC, Oregon Health & Science University


2014: Karen Reuter-Rice, PhD, CPNP-AC, FCCM, FAAN, Duke University


2012: Cynthia Danford, PhD, RN, PNP-BC, CPNP, University of Michigan

Outstanding Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Educator Award

2021: Beth Bolick, DNP, APRN, PPCNP-BC, CPNP-AC, FAAN, Rush University, Chicago, Illinois


2019: Rosie Zeno, DNP, APRN-CNP, CPNP-PC, The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio


2017: Imelda Reyes, DNP, MPH, CPNP-PC, FNP-BC, FAANP, Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia


2015: Kimberly Fenbert, DNP, RN, CPNP, Grand Valley State University, Grand Rapids, Michigan

2013: Diana Jacobson, PhD, RN, PNP-BC, PMHS, Arizona State University

2011: Patricia Jackson-Allen RN, MS, PNP-BC, FAAN, Yale University

Outstanding Preceptor Award 

2021: Brigit VanGraafeiland, DNP, CRNP, CNE, FAAN, East Baltimore, Maryland


2020: Beth Heuer, DNP, RN, CRNP, CPNP-PC, PMHS, Philadelphia, PA

2017: Keeli Irwin, PNP, Mercy Pediatric Clinic, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

2015: William Bishop, MSN, APRN-NP, Pediatric Partners, LLC, Fremont, Nebraska


2014: Heather Bartlett, MSN, CPNP-PC, Children's Hospital of Michigan, Wayne State University


2013: Janell Grant, MSN, PNP-BC, Box Butte General Hospital

2012: Heather Lane, DNP, RN, CPNP-PC, University of Arizona

2011: Mary Kathleen Kelly MSN, CPNP-PC, Pittsburgh Pediatrics


bottom of page